I Am Gary Hampton.


Next Stop: Detroit!
October 20, 2007, 2:47 pm
Filed under: Blogs, Concerts, Music | Tags:

On Wednesday night I got a message from Viv asking what I was doing Friday night. Turns out her friends ditched her and now she had extra tickets to go see Brand New in Detroit, so I went along. I was debating whether to go see the Toronto show or not since the venue is terrible, so the prospect of seeing the show at the legendary Fillmore was more than inticing.

We left Toronto shortly before 4pm and headed out on the supposed 4hour trip, getting there just before 9pm. Crossing the border was no problem, I found my passport just minutes before we left. We found parking and went inside. Wow. The Fillmore is one of the nicest venues I’ve ever seen. First stop was the washroom (after the 5 hour car ride) and they had screens set up to watch the show from the basement. We missed mewithoutYou (sadly) but caught Thrice before Brand New went on.

The show was great, as usual with Brand New. Last time I saw them was in Buffalo which was, and still is, my favorite Brand New show I’ve ever seen, I don’t think they’ll ever top it. But last night’s show was still great, with only a few complaints. One which I will address below in my:

Open Letter to the ‘Oprah’ Girl at the Brand New show in Detroit (10/19/07)

Dear ‘Oprah’ Girl,

I’m glad you enjoy Brand New. They’re a great band and one of my favorites to see live. But standing behind you at the show made my night less fun then it should have been and I blame it entirely on you.

First off, be aware of the people around you. You almost hit me in the face multiple times, as well as the people on the steps beside you. I’d like to be able to enjoy the show without worrying about your elbows knocking my teeth out.

But mainly, please learn to keep your mouth shut when people are talking. Namely the people on stage who everyone came to see.

When 2200 people are completely silent while someone on stage is telling a story about a young girl being decapitated in a car accident and her mother crying while holding her decieced daughter’s head in her arms, it is less than appropriate for you to shout out ‘I SAW THIS ON OPRAH!’ It is also less than appropriate for you to continue yelling ‘OPRAH! THIS WAS ON OPRAH!’. Even after an approximate 20 people around you turned and told you to (and I quote) ‘shut up’, you still continued to yell things such as ‘if you all would just watch tv you’d know what he was going to say.’ Well, I work in television. I watch tv on a daily basis. And I did not know what the song was about, and frankly I was more interested in how the story affected him and why he wrote the song than where you had heard the story.

Please be more respectful. As the guy standing beside you put it so well, there are 2200 people in the building who paid to hear what these people on stage have to say and 0 people who care what you have to say. He is the one with the microphone, so maybe you should (“”) shut up.

Thank you. I hope to never stand behind you at a show ever agian.

Sincerely,

Gary Hampton

After the show we attempted to cross the border back into Canada, and after being yelled at for not having a residency card and having our car searched, we were on our way. I tried to sleep, but it didn’t work very well. But we stayed awake, sang along to the stereo and made it back home at 4am.

All in all, a good night. Next time I just hope people have the decency to listen to the people on stage and refrain from ruining a very touching story.

-gh

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] The tour played Toronto’s Arrow Hall this past Thursday and for some reason, I didn’t go. I told myself it was because I had already seen this tour in Detroit a few months back (see Next Stop, Detroit!). […]

Pingback by Show Cancelled, Bands Still Play For Fans « I Am Gary Hampton.

[…] Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Songs Pt.3Something To Write Home AboutNext Stop: Detroit!Brand New – Music Hall of Williamsburg – 7/11/09 Leave a Comment No Comments Yet so far Leave […]

Pingback by new Brand New « I Am Gary Hampton.




Leave a Reply

