I Am Gary Hampton.


Something To Write Home About
February 7, 2008, 2:44 am
Filed under: Music

There’s no denying it. It’s just that good.

In 1999 my favorite album of all time was released. To this day, it remains my favorite album of all time. Any album that may take that position for however brief a time always seems to fall to second place once I remember how much I adore this one.

The band? The Gets Up Kids.
The album? Something To Write Home About.

guk1.jpg

It may not be the best album ever written, or contain the greatest songs ever written, but it is definitely my favorite album of all time and I have a feeling it will stay my favorite for years to come.

So I went out and got this tattoo…

guk_tattoo1.jpg

I feel like I should post the entire album on here for anyone to download if they’ve never heard it. If anyone wants me to do that, let me know and I will.
Everyone should hear it.

All right, here’s my offer. If you haven’t heard it, go buy it. If you don’t like it, give me the receipt and I’ll buy it from you to give to someone else. Deal? Deal.

-gh

ps. I didn’t get a tattoo. 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

agreed, you cannot say one bad thing about that album

Comment by Zac

[…] The Get Up Kids. If you’ve heard me speak words from my mouth before you’ve most likely heard me talk about this album. A few months ago I started talking to some musician friends about putting on a show next September […]

Pingback by Ten Years Later « I Am Gary Hampton.




Leave a Reply

