I Am Gary Hampton.


Past Self/Future Self
June 26, 2008, 3:12 pm
Filed under: Blogs

So I stumbled across an old private blog I had from 2004, essentially a mix of poems/songs as well as (essentially) an online journal to document my failing attempts at relationships. Reading back on those posts is amazing. What have I learned?

I’ve learned that if I would have listened to myself 4 years ago, I’d probably be better off today. My past self has now given my present self advice for my future self, because I’m still going through the same issues, and yet I’ve already figured out how to fix them. The problem is I don’t listen to myself and I continue to make the same mistakes.

As one of my old songs says from October 2005:

And she whispers “will you ever learn from your mistakes?”
And I say “it sure doesn’t seem to look that way.”

When will I start listening?

-gh

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

looking back there are sure to be some things that you could feel changes but somehow there will always be something that atays the same, later being established as traits…so maybe not learning from mistake is one of you trait?

Comment by merequeisziah




Leave a Reply

