I Am Gary Hampton.


Top 25 Albums of the Decade
November 16, 2009, 3:52 pm
Filed under: Blogs, Music

On Friday, at work, I received an e-mail asking me what my favorite 10 albums of the past decade were. The purpose? MTV News is doing a special about the past decade to air close to the new year and so they’re tallying up our votes to make the list. They gave us some suggestions and off I went to make my selections.

I thought it would be easier than it was. Out of the choices they gave me I had a list of 10, but also had a list of 10 that weren’t on that list and that I didn’t feel I should submit, simply because the purpose of the submissions was to tally up the choices for a final list, and my choices would not have made any sort of impact whatsoever to the final tally.

But it did get me thinking, and so I made a top 25 list of releases of the past decade. Even at 25, this list is so hard to do and I know I must have missed some key albums, so let me know if I missed anything. And truth be told, I’ll probably be changing/rearranging this list over the next little while.

From 2000-2009, my top 25 albums of the decade:

  1. Saves The Day ‘Stay What You Are’ (2001)
  2. Cursive ‘The Ugly Organ’ (2003)
  3. Thrice ‘The Illusion of Safety’ (2002)
  4. Say Anything ‘…Is A Real Boy’ (2004)
  5. Rx Bandits ‘The Resignation’ (2003)
  6. Manchester Orchestra ‘Everything To Nothing’ (2009)
  7. Moneen ‘Are We Really Happy With Who We Are Right Now?’ (2003)
  8. Glassjaw ‘Worship and Tribute’ (2002)
  9. At The Drive In ‘Relationship Of Command’ (2000)
  10. Brand New ‘The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me’ (2006)
  11. Brand New ‘Deja Entendu’ (2003)
  12. Radiohead ‘in Rainbows’ (2007)
  13. Less Than Jake ‘Borders & Boundaries’ (2000)
  14. Death Cab for Cutie ‘Transatlanticism’ (2003)
  15. Taking Back Sunday ‘Tell All Your Friends’ (2002)
  16. The Mars Volta ‘De-loused in the Comatorium’ (2003)
  17. Muse ‘Origin Of Symmetry’ (2001)
  18. The Postal Service ‘Give Up’ (2003)
  19. Manchester Orchestra ‘Like A Virgin Losing A Child’ (2006)
  20. Arcade Fire ‘Funeral’ (2004)
  21. Modest Mouse ‘Good News For People Who Love Bad News’ (2004)
  22. Thrice ‘Beggars’ (2009)
  23. MGMT ‘Oracular Spectacular’(2008)
  24. Phoenix ‘Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix’ (2009)
  25. Blood Brothers ‘Crimes´(2004)

Thoughts? What would you change? What did I miss? What’re your top 5 or 10 albums of the decade?

-gh

Honorable Mentions: Coheed and Cambria ‘Second Stage Turbine Blade’ | Coheed and Cambria ‘In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth’ | Rx Bandits ‘…And The Battle Begun’ | Thrice ‘The Artist in the Ambulance’ | Thrice ‘Vheissu’ | Kevin Devine ‘Put Your Ghost To Rest’ | Brand New ‘Your Favorite Weapon’ | The Get Up Kids ‘Guilt Show’ | MxPx The Everpassing Moment | Dashboard Confessional ‘The Places You Have Come To Fear The Most’ | Japandroids ‘Post Nothing’ | anything by New Found Glory | Anything by Anathallo | Anything by The Rocket Summer | Anything by Jimmy Eat World | OutKast ‘Stankonia’

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

MGMT…Hipster.

Comment by TYLER. GARY, IT'S TYLER

You’re nitpicking my #22 choice? You didn’t even leave your top 5!

Comment by iamgaryhampton

Here’s a quick list for you (In no particular order)

De-loused in the Commatorium – Mars Volta
Bedlam in Goliath – Mars Volta
Relationship of Command – At the Drive-In
Relapse – Eminem
The ’59 Sound – Gaslight Anthem(Surprised you didn’t have that in there)
Everything Goes Numb – Streetlight Manifesto
Lateralus – Tool
Fishscale – Ghostface Killah
Blackholes and Revalations – Muse
And finally, The Beatles re-mastred (Yes, it counts)

Comment by TYLER. GARY, IT'S TYLER




Leave a Reply

