I Am Gary Hampton.


Top 10 Movies of the Decade
November 19, 2009, 1:47 pm
Filed under: Blogs

As with my last list, we were asked at work to submit our Top 10 Movies of the Decade for an upcoming MTV News special. I quickly realized that a lot my favorite movies are from the 90’s (shocking…), including my original #1, Fight Club, which was actually from 1999.

Regardless, here’s the list I settled on.

My Top 10 Movies of The Decade (2000-2009)

1. Requiem For A Dream (2000)
Every single time I watch this movie it affects me, even when I know exactly what will happen, which definitely says a lot. Great direction, solid acting. The best thing Jared Leto has ever done.

2. Almost Famous (2000)
Reinforced and further motivated my desire to be a journalist. The same year I saw this movie, I started interviewing bands.

3. Memento (2000)
Enticing, intriguing, well put together in terms of direction and editing. Highly entertaining. Yes.

4. High Fidelity (2000)
Incredible mix of well executed character development and getting into the head of John Cusack. Love the breaking of the 4th wall.

5. Donnie Darko (2001)
A good mix of great directing and acting and great timing, I saw this movie at just the right time in my life with the right group of people.

6.  Mean Girls (2004)
I took a lot of flack for this one, but I stand by it. Tina Fey took what should have been a terribly cliche high school movie and made it highly entertaining and funny.

7. Juno (2007)
Usually when I see a movie I leave the theatre thinking about what I liked and what I would change. When I left the theatre after Juno I remember thinking ‘I wouldn’t change a single thing.’ Even went to Hallowe’en ’08 as Paulie Bleeker.

8. The Devil and Daniel Johnston (2006)
A healthy mix of musician documentary and great insight into mental disorders. Had the chance to meet Daniel a few years ago and even flip through his lyric book, made me appreciate the film even more.

9. 11:14 (2003)
15minutes of one night seen through the perspective of a handful of people. Really well executed and entertaining.

10. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (2008)
Another pick I got flack for, but again, I left the theatre highly satisfied and wasn’t entirely sure what I was feeling. Yes, it’s a little lengthy but I really enjoyed it.

Agree? Disagree? What’re your picks?

-gh

HONORABLE MENTIONS:  This Is It | I Love You, Man | Inglorious Basterds | Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind | Being John Malkovich |

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

